Senior AwardeesPaige Johnson ('21) received the academic award for the department of natural sciences.

Congratulations to this year's senior recipients! The end of the academic year means special awards and presentations for departments and academic schools.

On Sunday, May 9, Concordia University Ann Arbor celebrated the graduation of nearly 150 undergraduate and graduate candidates.

Below are links and resources from CUAA’s spring ceremonies in case you missed it:


Concordia University Ann Arbor is pleased to recognize academic excellence among its students. Each academic year (once in either December or May), a graduating student is chosen from Concordia’s academic department for their excellence in their chosen field of study. The students are recognized at the baccalaureate service preceding commencement exercises. This semester’s awardees include:

Paige Johnson | Natural Sciences

Lauren Drinane | Sport and Entertainment Business

Abigail Bentz | Elementary Education

Kalera Rahn | Secondary Education

Amy Miles | Fine Arts: Music

Micah Biermann | Computer Science

Jacob Culp | Social Sciences

Ruth Belli | English


Each academic year, the Haab School of Business presents awards to seniors who were leaders in ability, performance, commitment, participation, strong character, interpersonal skills, attitude, and more. Congratulations to this year’s Haab School of Business awardees!

James Olson | Student of The Year Award

Adam Thiel | Wall Street Journal Award

Miles Riddell | American Bicentennial Award in Business Administration

Peter Morrison | Servant Leadership Award

Hailey McCourt | Servant Leadership Award

Lauren Drinane | Excellence in Achievement for Sport Entertainment Business

Devin Wolever | Excellence in Achievement for Sport Entertainment Business

Ashley Spiegelberg | Excellence in Achievement for Hospitality Event Management

Courtney Evans | Excellence in Achievement for Hospitality Event Management

Hannah Huhn | Justice with Honor Award

Leah Maassel | Justice and Public Policy Servant Leadership Award

Haab School of Business
Haab School of Business 2021 seniors celebrate special awards. Left to right (front row) Courtney Evans, Ashley Spiegelberg, Miles Riddell, (middle) Hailey McCourt, Lauren Drinane, (back) Peter Morrison, James Olson, Adam Thiel


Each semester, the Concordia University Ann Arbor Ronald and Marvel Jones School of Nursing celebrates a Pinning Ceremony for the graduating cohort. On Saturday, May 8, the nursing department honored the Gamma Class, the sixth cohort to graduate from CUAA’s bachelor of science in nursing program.

Concordia’s nursing faculty and staff nominate students from the graduating cohort who best represent the core values of the nursing program: service, excellence, compassion, and integrity. An additional award, the Nightingale Award, was created as a tribute to Florence Nightingale who embodied nursing as her life’s vocation.

Rachel Johnstone | Compassion Award

Jakara Ventour | Service Award

Ryan Fish | Integrity Award

Samantha Golchuk | Excellence Award

Sophia Bell | The Nightingale Award

— Rachel Thoms served on Concordia University's Strategic Communications team from 2015-2022. Any inquiries about this story can be sent to

If this story has inspired you, why not explore how you can help further Concordia's mission through giving.